Organ climatic conditions

 
     

We have been closely involved with the subject of organ-climate for over 10 years.

Aufzählung

Do you have the feeling that it is too dry in winter or too humid in summer for your instrument?

Aufzählung

Do you occasionally hear loud “cracking noises” from the organ case?

Aufzählung

Are the keys often very uneven?

Aufzählung

Do the pedal or manual couplers no longer work properly?

Aufzählung

Do you have hardly any “depth of touch” in winter or summer?

Aufzählung

Does your instrument not stay in tune well?

In order to be able to analyse the situation and take the correct steps, you need data from a calibrated gauge and an evaluation of the results by a specialist who knows about organs.
For this you need a measurement of climatic conditions in the organ.

     

Some of my models:
at the bottom an appliance from
the newest generation
“HYGROLOG” NT3

     
     

What is a “measurement of climatic conditions in the organ”?

For a measurement of climatic conditions, a calibrated gauge is placed in the organ in a position where the air circulates freely, so that the temperature and the relative humidity during a particular time frame can be measured. At the end of this period the data are converted on the computer into a diagram which can be clearly read and interpreted, where the exact course of the temperature and relative humidity are shown in a coloured curve.

Then the curves are analysed by an experienced organ builder. This analysis must take into account the particular church and its infrastructure, the location of the measurement, the heating and much more. In this we benefit from over 100 organ climate analyses.

 



























Data Logger in use in an organ


Normally the coloured diagram of the organ climatic conditions over the course of one month is printed on one A4 sheet. It is however also possible to print just one day (for example 24th December), in order to discuss the heating and the adjustment of the heating controls with the verger. We work together with a heating and climate engineer who has wide experience in installation or alteration of church heating.

Should the humidity curve be above or below the recommended level, I can give advice and show possible courses of action. Action should be taken at under 40% and over 75% relative humidity. These are the boundaries for the organ builder’s guarantee.

A thorough analysis of climatic conditions enables you to take appropriate steps in time to avoid damage to a valuable organ. The following pdf file from winter 2005/2006 shows which results are contained in a “measurement of organ climate”.

Description of work involved
in a measurement of climatic conditions.

PDF

 
     

Diagram of a measurement
of climatic conditions.

PDF

 
     

Analysis of a sample church in Zurich

PDF

 
     
Serious damage to a windtrunk from the organ of the Catholic Church in Geroldswil, caused by an overly dry room climate.

Furthermore, the organ was standing on a heated floor.

Orgelklima

 
     

Seit über 10 Jahre beschäftige wir uns intensiv mit dem Thema Orgelklima.

Aufzählung

Haben Sie das Gefühl, dass es im Winter für Ihre Orgel zu trocken oder im Sommer zu feucht ist?

Aufzählung

Hören Sie ab und zu starke „Knack-Geräusche“ aus dem Orgelgehäuse?

Aufzählung

Sind die Tasten öfters unterschiedlich stark verreguliert?

Aufzählung

Funktionieren die Pedal- oder Manualkopplungen nicht mehr richtig?

Aufzählung

Haben Sie im Winter oder im Sommer fast keinen „Tastengang“ mehr?

Aufzählung

Ist die Stimmhaltung Ihres Instruments schlecht?

Damit Sie die Situation analysieren und geeignete Massnahme treffen können, benötigen Sie Daten von einem geeichten Messgerät und eine Auswertung der Messresultate durch eine Fachperson, die sich mit Orgeln auskennt.
Darum brauchen Sie eine Orgelklimamessung.

     

Einige meiner Modelle:
Unten ein Gerät der neusten Generation,
der „HYGROLOG“ NT3.

     
     

Was ist eine „Orgelklimamessung“?

Für eine Orgelklimamessung wird ein geeichtes Messgerät an einem Ort in Ihrer Orgel platziert, an dem die Luft gut zirkuliert, um über eine bestimmte Zeit den Verlauf der Temperatur und der relativen Feuchte (r.F.) zu messen. Am Ende der Messperiode werden die Daten per Computer zu einer gut les- und interpretierbaren Grafik verarbeitet, welche den genauen Verlauf der Temperatur und der relativen Feuchte in einer farbigen Kurve zeigt.
Dann werden die Kurven von einem erfahrenen Orgelbauer ausgewertet. Bei der Auswertung müssen das Wissen über die jeweilige Kirche und deren Infrastruktur, den Standort der Messung, die Heizung und vieles mehr einbezogen werden. Wir profitieren dabei von der Erfahrung aus über 100 Orgelklima-Auswertungen.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Datenlogger im Einsatz in einer Orgel.

Normalerweise wird die farbige Grafik vom Orgelklimaverlauf über einen Monat auf einem A4-Blatt ausgedruckt. Es ist aber auch möglich, nur einen Tag (zum Beispiel den 24. Dezember) auszudrucken, um das Heizverhalten und die Regulierung der Heizungssteuerung mit dem Sigristen (Messner/Küster) zu besprechen. Dabei arbeiten wir mit einem Heizungs- und Klimatechniker zusammen, der grosse Erfahrungen im Bau oder Umbau von Heizungen in Kirchen hat.

Falls sich die Feuchtigkeitskurven über oder unter dem Alarmwert befinden, berate ich Sie gerne und zeige Ihnen Möglichkeiten auf für ein weiteres Vorgehen. Handlungsbedarf besteht bei unter 40% und bei über 75% relativer Feuchte. Dies entspricht dem Garantiewert der Orgelbauer.

Auf der Basis einer seriösen Klimaanalyse können Sie rechtzeitig geeignete Massnahmen ergreifen, um Schäden an Ihrer wertvollen Orgel zu verhindern. Das folgende Pdf aus dem Winter 2005/2006 zeigt auf, welche Leistungen in einer „Orgelklimaauswertung“ enthalten sind.
 

Leistungsbeschrieb Orgelklimamessung

PDF Datei

 
     

Grafik Orgelklima-Messung

PDF Datei

 
     

Auswertung Musterkirche in ZH

PDF Datei

 
     

Grosser Schaden an einem Kanalstummel aus der Orgel der Katholischen Kirche in Geroldswil, infolge viel zu trockenem Raumklima.

Die Orgel wurde ausserdem noch auf eine Fussbodenheizung platziert.