Repair of damage to organs

 
     

Our strength lies in recognising damage to the instrument right away, halting any further damage, and quickly repairing the damage. A detailed analysis of the damage based on years of experience permits an efficient remedying and simplifies the communication between parish, insurance and the company carrying out the repairs.

     

Action:
 

   
Aufzählung

Immediate on site record of damage

Aufzählung

Making contact with the property administrator

Aufzählung

Prevention of further damage

Aufzählung

Making the site secure

Aufzählung

Contacting the research institute EMPA Dübendorf if necessary

Aufzählung

Writing up of a damage report

Aufzählung

Contacting the insurance company

Aufzählung

Contacting our fire and water damage specialists, the company BELFOR

Aufzählung

Working out a joint plan of action

Aufzählung

Discussion with the insurance company

Aufzählung

Cleaning / repair of the organ
 

     

Repair to the Gross organ

   
     

After a large artificial flower arrangement in the Gross church caught fire, the whole organ had to be cleaned. In order to prevent corrosion to the metal pipes caused by dust from the fire, all the metal pipes were cleaned in a pipe bath with specialist cleaning products. We carried out this work together with the well-known firm “BELFOR – restorations”. (BELFOR is the leading company for damage restoration worldwide).

     

     

     

     
     

Asbestos removal

   
     

Are you unsure whether the blower cabinet in the organ is made using asbestos panels? We establish together with the EMPA (this is a Swiss materials science and technology research institution) whether the organ contains asbestos and if necessary help you to put this right as quickly as possible.

The EMPA advises in its scientific seminar on the subject “Asbestos – Danger recognised, danger averted?” on the dangers present today. In Switzerland practically all blower cabinets made from the 1950’s to the 1970’s had to contain asbestos panels for fire and sound insulation. This was compulsory.

For years now we have been aware of the danger. There is air turbulence in the blower cabinet caused by air intake, which then goes through the wind trunks to the pallet box and through the open pallets into the pipes and the church. Asbestos fibres can reach the church with the flow of wind through corners from the blower cabinet. As we all know, the effects of asbestos only become apparent years later. According to SUVA, it can be 15-45 years until asbestos exposure leads to the onset of illness. (SUVA) is an independent, non-profit company under public law. In 1918, SUVA opened its doors as the Swiss Accident Insurance Fund.)

The church authorities have a responsibility towards the church visitors and organists.

Is the blower cabinet in your organ made using cut asbestos panels?

Together with the EMPA, we help you to establish whether there is asbestos present. If so, we work together with an asbestos removal firm which removes the asbestos panels correctly. In order to carry this out, the blower box must be put below atmospheric pressure for a short time. In addition we clean the inside of the sound boards if necessary, in particular the leather on the pallets, where the asbestos fibres collect. Finally we fit the inside of the blower cabinet with new soundproofing material.

The EMPA writes as follows in its pamphlet “Asbestos problems?”

The light asbestos-containing panels mostly reveal a high percentage of “brown asbestos”. In this case it is “loosely bound” asbestos. There is particular danger with the incorrect removal of materials containing “loosely bound” asbestos.
The low stability of these sheets and the presence of “brown asbestos” mean that even insignificant mechanical pressures such as vibration or flow of air can release fine asbestos fibres from untreated panel surfaces.
 

Ask for an asbestos analysis from DIE FLIEGENDEN REGISTER

Sanierung Orgelschäden

 
     

Unsere Stärke besteht darin, Schäden am Instrument sofort zu erkennen, eine Weiterverbreitung zu stoppen und die Schäden schnell zu reparieren. Eine detaillierte Schadenanalyse auf der Basis langjähriger Erfahrung ermöglicht eine effiziente Behebung der Schäden und vereinfacht die Kommunikation zwischen Kirchgemeinde, Versicherung und Schadenssanierungsfirma.

     

Vorgehen:
 

   
Aufzählung

Sofortige Schadensaufnahme vor Ort

Aufzählung

Kontaktaufnahme mit dem Liegenschaftenverwalter

Aufzählung

Verhinderung der Schadenserweiterung

Aufzählung

Sicherung der Schadensstelle

Aufzählung

Eventuell Kontaktaufnahme mit der EMPA Dübendorf

Aufzählung

Erarbeitung eines Schadengutachtens

Aufzählung

Kontaktaufnahme mit der Versicherungsgesellschaft

Aufzählung

Kontaktaufnahme mit unseren Brand- und Wasserschadensspezialisten, der Firma Belfor

Aufzählung

Erarbeitung des gemeinsamen Vorgehens

Aufzählung

Absprache mit der Versicherungsgesellschaft

Aufzählung

Reinigung / Sanierung der Orgel
 

     

Sanierung Orgel Gross

   
     

Nach dem Brand eines grösseren Kunststoffblumengebindes in der Kirche Gross, musste die ganze Orgel gereinigt werden. Um die Korrosion der Metallpfeifen durch den Brandstaub zu verhindern, wurden alle Metallpfeifen mit einem Spezialreinigungsmittel in einem Wasserbad gereinigt. Wir haben diese Arbeiten zusammen mit der bekannten Firma: „BELFOR – Brandsanierungen“ ausgeführt.

     

     

     

     
     

Asbestsanierungen

   
     

Sind Sie nicht sicher, ob die Motorenkiste Ihrer Orgel mit Asbestplatten ausgestattet ist? In Zusammenarbeit mit der EMPA stellen wir für Sie fest, ob Ihre Orgel Asbestplatten enthält und helfen Ihnen dabei, Ihr Instrument falls nötig so rasch wie möglich zu sanieren.

Die EMPA weist in ihrem wissenschaftlichen Seminar zum Thema „Asbest – Gefahr erkannt? Gefahr gebannt“? auf die bis heute bestehenden Gefahren hin. Von den fünfziger bis in die siebziger Jahre mussten praktisch alle Motorenkisten zur Schall- und Branddämmung in der Schweiz mit Asbestplatten ausgelegt werden. Dies war Vorschrift.

Seit Jahren sind wir uns der Gefahr bewusst. In den Motorenkisten gibt es durch das Ansaugen der Luft Turbulenzen, die wiederum durch die Kanäle in die Ventilkästen und durch die offenen Ventile in die Pfeifen und in die Kirchen gerät. An den Schnittkanten können Asbestfasern mit der Windströmung aus der Motorenkiste bis in die Kirche gelangen. Wie wir alle wissen, wirken sich Asbestschäden erst über die Jahre aus. Laut SUVA kann es 15–45 Jahre dauern, bis Asbesteinflüsse zum Ausbruch der Krankheit führen.

Die Kirchenbehörden tragen hier eine Verantwortung den Kirchenbesuchern und den Organistinnen und Organisten gegenüber.


Ist die Motorenkiste in Ihrer Orgel mit zugeschnittenen Asbestplatten ausgestattet?

Wir helfen Ihnen, mit der EMPA zusammen festzustellen, ob es sich um Asbestplatten handelt. Wenn ja, entfernt eine Asbest-Sanierungsfirma in Zusammenarbeit mit uns die Asbestplatten fachgerecht. Für diese Ausbauarbeiten muss kurzzeitig ein „Unterdruckzelt“ um die Motorenkiste installiert werden. Zudem reinigen wir falls nötig das Innere der Windladen, vor allem die ledernen Ventilbeläge, in denen sich Asbestfasern gerne verfangen. Anschliessend kleiden wir das Innere der Motorenkiste mit neuem Schallschutzmaterial aus.

Die EMPA schreibt in ihrem Faltblatt: „Asbestprobleme?“ folgendes:

Die leichten, asbesthaltigen Platten weisen meistens einen hohen Anteil an „braunem Asbest“ auf. Es handelt sich hierbei um Asbest in „schwach gebundener Form“. Besondere Gefahr besteht in der unsachgerechten Entfernung von Materialien, die Asbest in „schwach gebundener Form“ enthalten.
Die geringe Festigkeit dieser Platten und die Anwesenheit von „braunem Asbest“ führen dazu, dass bereits geringfügige mechanische Belastungen wie Vibrationen oder Luftströmungen feinste Asbestfasern von unbehandelten Plattenoberflächen freisetzen können.
 

Asbestanalyse durchführen lassen: DIE FLIEGENDEN REGISTER